SEO Consulting

SurferSEO November 2026 Review: From an AEO Consultant

A November 2026 SurferSEO review from an AEO consultant: Content Editor, AI Tracker, WordPress publishing, and yearly plan prices on surfer.ai.

Surfer is the tool I would open when a writer needs a keyword brief, a Content Score, and a WordPress draft. It is a weaker first buy when the blog lives in Webflow and the question is whether ChatGPT, Gemini, and Google AI all cited the URL. The publish path I could verify is WordPress, and AI Tracker on the Standard plan is ChatGPT only, refreshed weekly. On 3 November 2026 the yearly prices on the Surfer pricing page ran from $49 a month for Discovery to $299 a month for Peace of Mind.

Last updated - November 2026

I am Austin Heaton. Most of the content systems I review are for fintech teams. The rest are B2B SaaS and a few other industries when the publishing problem looks the same. The useful question is not whether Surfer has a lot of panels. It is which panel I can defend when a founder asks why a post was published.

The product on the site is Surfer. The company footer reads Surfer Sp. z o.o., Wroclaw, Poland. The current marketing site is surfer.ai, and the same pricing page is what surferseo.com served when I opened it. The browser title on that pricing page reads Positive Surfer. The help center, the invoices language, and the docs still say Surfer. I am reviewing the product those docs describe, not the title tag.

Key Takeaways

  • On 3 November 2026, Surfer's pricing page showed Discovery at $49 a month, Standard at $99, Pro at $182, and Peace of Mind at $299, each billed yearly. A separate AI Search Analytics plan was $82 a month, billed yearly.
  • Surfer's AI Tracker help article puts tracking on Standard and above, not on Discovery. Standard is 25 prompts, ChatGPT only, refreshed weekly. Pro is 50 prompts daily. Peace of Mind is 100 prompts daily.
  • The Content Editor is the core product: live guidelines, a Content Score, Surfer AI drafts, and a pre-publish review that the overview says includes readability and plagiarism checks. Auto-Optimize is on every plan except Discovery, and you still click Save and Close.
  • A new WordPress export lands as a draft. Updating a post that is already published goes live immediately, according to Surfer's own export doc. The Google Docs extension shares guidelines, not the article text.
  • The pricing page says annual credits reset yearly. The pricing FAQ says unused limits do not roll to the next month. I would confirm whether Standard's 360 documents are a year or a month before anyone signs an annual invoice.

What Is Surfer in November 2026?

Surfer is a content optimization platform that now sells itself as an AI visibility system. Its own homepage timeline says 2018 was data-backed content optimization and the Content Score, 2022 was Surfer AI, and 2026 is an AI visibility platform that is supposed to hold rankings and AI mentions in one workflow. That is Surfer's account of itself. I am using it as positioning, not as a result.

Want AI engines to recommend your company? Book a free 30-minute AI visibility review with Austin.

Book a Call

The pricing FAQ describes the toolkit as NLP, machine learning, and an analysis of over 500 web and AI signals, with guidelines it calls real-time and competition-based. The metric it names is the Content Score. I care less about the slogan and more about whether a writer can see the term, the missing section, and the query the score came from. A score without the guideline is a mood.

Surfer's pricing FAQ says the community is 150,000+ customers in 159+ countries. That is Surfer's figure. The homepage also pairs quotes with growth percentages, and it claims content optimized with Surfer is 25% more likely to be cited by AI. The page I read did not show a sample or a method next to those numbers. I am not using them.

If the job is the report rather than the draft, start with a measurement comparison such as Ahrefs vs SEMrush for AI search reporting, or the wider shortlist in Profound vs Peec AI vs Otterly vs Semrush. Surfer can sit beside those tools. It does not replace the log.

How Do the Surfer Plans Compare?

Surfer's plans split on three things that change a blog operation: how many documents you can open, whether AI Tracker is included, and which engines that tracker actually refreshes. Price comes after those three. A cheap editor that cannot see the engine your buyers use is still the wrong editor.

Figures below are from Surfer's pricing page and the AI Tracker and pricing FAQ help articles, read on 3 November 2026. They move. Check the linked page before you buy.

CriterionDiscoveryStandardProPeace of MindAI Search Analytics
Best forTrying the editor without AI TrackerA small team writing in Surfer, ChatGPT weeklyDaily AI tracking across the models Surfer groups togetherHigher limits, API on the card, VIP support on the cardTracking only, no writing workflow on the card
Price I could read$49/month, billed yearly$99/month, billed yearly. Card says save $240.$182/month, billed yearly. Card says save $444.$299/month, billed yearly$82/month, billed yearly. Card says save $156.
DocumentsA 120-document cell appears in the comparison block. The Discovery card itself did not state it.Card says create or optimize 360 documents.Comparison block shows 360 a second time. I am reading that as Pro.Card says uncapped optimization. No document number on the card.Not a writing plan on the card I read.
AI TrackerNot included, per the help article.25 prompts, ChatGPT only, weekly.50 prompts, daily. Pricing page: across all models.100 prompts, daily. Pricing page: across all models.50 prompts, daily, on the base card. Docs also list 100, 200, or unlimited.
Tracked pagesCard says 10 pages.Comparison block lists 50, 200, and 500. I am matching 50 to Standard.I am matching 200 to Pro. Confirm the labeled row.I am matching 500 to Peace of Mind. Confirm the labeled row.Not stated as a page tracker on the card.
Version history1 day, in the Content Editor doc.1 week.1 month.6 months.Not a Content Editor plan.
Auto-OptimizeExcluded.Included, fair use. You review, then save.Included, fair use.Included, fair use.Not described on this plan's card.
Main limitNo AI Tracker, and no Auto-Optimize.ChatGPT only, and a weekly refresh.Same document pool as Standard, on the reading above.The document cap is a slogan until the order form states it.You still need somewhere to write.

Two price notes, because the cards and the docs do not speak in one number.

First, monthly rates. Standard's card prints $99 a month, billed yearly, and "Save $240." That saving is $20 a month, so the month-to-month rate consistent with the card is $119. Pro's "Save $444" on $182 billed yearly is $37 a month, so $219 month to month. AI Search Analytics "Save $156" on $82 billed yearly is $13 a month, so $95 month to month. I did not see those monthly figures printed as their own lines. I also did not see a saving figure on the Discovery or Peace of Mind cards in the text I could extract, so I am not inventing monthly rates for them. The pricing FAQ says annual billing is up to 17% off monthly payments, and that the year is paid upfront.

Second, the document pool. Standard's card says 360 documents next to a price that is billed yearly. The pricing page FAQ says annual credits reset yearly, or when you change plan. The pricing FAQ says unused limits do not roll over to the next month. Both sentences are on Surfer pages. They can both be true if Surfer drips a monthly allowance out of a yearly pool and voids what you do not use. They can also mean two different clocks. I would not put "30 posts a month" in a budget until the billing screen shows the reset.

Extra AI Tracker prompts, on Standard, Pro, or Peace of Mind, are packs of 10 for $18 a month, from the plan selector or checkout, according to the AI Tracker article. Lowering the prompt count means contacting support. Enterprise is custom: the pricing page lists legal onboarding help, early access, custom limits, and tailored onboarding, and it does not print a price.

New accounts get a 7-day trial of Pro, the pricing FAQ says, with AI Visibility, content audit, keyword research, AI writing, and 1-click automations. I did not see a permanent free plan. Surfer bills in USD or EUR, and canceling keeps access until the paid period ends.

For a writer choosing between Surfer and a tool that publishes into more than WordPress, the side-by-side is Frase vs Surfer for blog posts. This page stays on Surfer.

If you want a second set of eyes on the plan before the annual charge, Book a Call and bring the CMS you actually publish to.

What Does the Content Editor Do for a Blog Post?

The Content Editor is where Surfer still earns the subscription. Surfer's Content Editor overview describes a workflow panel with five steps: research and outline, write and optimize, internal links, pre-publish review, and publish or export.

Research, outline, and the three scores

You open a query with a keyword, a location, a language, and a device choice, mobile or desktop. Surfer says the product works with all languages and points to a list in the knowledge base. I did not recount that list. The research step is competitors, questions, notes, and an outline.

The write step tells you to cover recommended entities and facts, to answer the user's question early, and to watch optimization progress "across all three scores." Surfer's MCP documentation names those as an SEO score, an AI Search score, and a total score. The same MCP page says AI Search guidelines can include source-attributed facts drawn from the SERP and from AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, OpenAI, and Perplexity. That is a guideline layer inside the editor. It is not the same thing as AI Tracker, which is the ongoing prompt log. I would not tell a client that a green AI Search score means the brand was cited yesterday.

Import from URL builds an editor from a page you already published. Bulk create can open many editors at once. Surfer warns that both paths skip the newer wizard, so custom instructions and templates are on the standard setup flow, not on the shortcut. That matters if the point of the tool is a house style. The shortcut will not carry it.

Surfer AI, Facts, and Auto-Optimize

Surfer's Surfer AI article says a long-form draft can be generated in around 20 minutes inside the editor. The same article still names GPT-4 Turbo, GPT-4o, and GPT-4o-mini. I am quoting the help article as it read on 3 November 2026. I would confirm the live model before repeating those names in a security review.

The Facts article puts a Facts panel in the AI Search section of the guidelines. It says the panel suggests coverage improvements and is included on every subscription plan. It is not available on shareable links. You see it when you are in the app.

Auto-Optimize is the one-click pass that inserts NLP terms and rewrites sections to lift the Content Score, with a side panel of suggestions. You apply them with Save and Close. It is on every plan except Discovery, under a fair-use policy the article points at without printing a number I could quote. Usage is deducted if Surfer generated at least one suggestion, even if you decline every change or close the tab. An error that says the draft cannot be optimized because of formatting does not deduct usage. I would run it once, at the end, which is also what Surfer suggests, and I would read every rewritten sentence on a page that mentions a price, a license, or a competitor.

Internal links and the pre-publish check

The internal-link step says to connect Google Search Console, then scan and insert links. That is the right shape for a blog: the links should come from pages you already rank, not from a generic "related posts" widget. I did not find a published cap on how many link suggestions a document gets.

Pre-publish review, in the same overview, lists readability scoring, plagiarism checking, and an AI readability analysis. I can confirm the feature names. I cannot confirm which plan unlocks plagiarism, because the overview does not gate it and the pricing cards I read did not print the word. Treat plagiarism as "named in the editor overview," and confirm it on the trial before you drop another checker.

Version history is gated, and the Content Editor article is specific: 1 day on Discovery, 1 week on Standard, 1 month on Pro, 6 months on Peace of Mind. Shareable links do not get it.

What Does AI Tracker Actually Report?

AI Tracker is Surfer's prompt log. The help article says it is included on Standard, Pro, Peace of Mind, and Enterprise, and sold on its own as AI Search Analytics. It is not on Discovery. The article's opening examples are ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, and others. The only plan it pins to a single model is Standard: ChatGPT only, weekly.

The metrics it names are a visibility score, mention rate, average position, topics and prompts, and sources. The important split is in a warning box on that same article. Visibility Score is whether the brand showed up in the answer for the prompts you track. A zero means it did not, for that prompt. Sources are domains the models cite or rely on more broadly. Your page can be in the source list and still never be named in the answer a buyer reads. That is the same split I use when a dashboard says "you are visible" and the sales team has never heard the brand in a chatbot. If you want the longer version of why those two numbers diverge, it is the same problem as counting a mention as a citation.

Surfer says it does not trust a single generation. The article describes a self-consistency check so the overlap across answers is what gets kept. It does not print a sample size per prompt.

Refresh is daily on Pro, Peace of Mind, Enterprise, and AI Search Analytics, and weekly on Standard. Removing a prompt does not trigger a new run. Deleting a whole project is a support request. A paused workspace does not restart its tracker on its own.

Recommendations turn the log into a list. Off-page, Surfer ranks sources that do not mention you. On-page, it suggests titles you can open in the Content Editor. Off-page items are ready with the first report. On-page items follow four days later, then update on Mondays. A daily tracker and a Monday task list are not the same meeting.

The AI Search Analytics card lists 50 prompts refreshed daily, mention gap and brand sentiment, five brand spaces, brand knowledge, and MCP, across ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews, and other models. The help article also offers 100, 200, or unlimited prompts on that plan. Confirm the cap on the order form. The comparison block lists 1, 3, 5, and 10 team seats. I am matching that order to Discovery, Standard, Pro, and Peace of Mind, and I would still read the labeled row before I promise a fifth login. Brand spaces and seats are different units.

Pro and Peace of Mind say the prompts run "simultaneously across all models." The pricing page does not name the models on that row. I will not invent a five-engine list to fill the gap. Standard is the one plan where the model is named, and the name is ChatGPT.

How Does a Post Get from Surfer to the Site?

Publish or export, in the editor overview, is meta tags, copy or download, social posts, or a WordPress export. The path I can describe from Surfer's own docs is WordPress, Google Docs, Contentful, and an API that returns HTML.

WordPress

The WordPress plugin doc says the plugin is free to install and needs an active Surfer subscription to use fully. It supports Gutenberg, the Classic Editor, and Elementor. Other builders are unpromised. It requires PHP 8.3, and Surfer notes that a security plugin or a host firewall can block it.

The export doc is the one I would tape above the publish button. A new WordPress post or page is created as a draft. An update to an existing post keeps that post's status. If the post is already published, Surfer says the change is visible as published immediately. You can also write with the guidelines in a sidebar inside WordPress, and pulling a WordPress page into a new editor consumes one document from the limit. A later export from that same connected post does not consume another.

That default is the right one for a new post and the dangerous one for a refresh. A fintech editor who "updates" a live fee page is publishing, not drafting. I would rather the plugin refused to touch a published URL. It does not say that.

Google Docs, Contentful, and the API

The Google Docs extension loads guidelines inside a Doc. Surfer says the integration is not bi-directional. Guidelines move. The article text does not. If the draft already exists in Surfer, someone copies it by hand. Connecting a Doc also overrides the Surfer share link until you unlink them. Homepage quotes call the Docs workflow seamless. The doc calls it one-way. I am using the doc.

The Contentful integration is the same shape. Guidelines sit in a sidebar on a content type that has a Rich Text field. There is no content sync. You copy and paste. Creating a new editor from Contentful consumes a document.

The API examples show a clean HTML pull of an editor, which you can send to a CMS yourself. The article says WordPress and Shopify accept that HTML as content. That is a custom integration, not a publish button I found in the app docs. The examples also mention creating Content Editor, Audit, and SERP Analyzer queries from a sheet. Peace of Mind's pricing card is the one that says "API access" in the short description. I did not find a sentence that says lower plans have no API, so I will not claim the gate is exclusive. I also did not find a native Webflow, Sanity, or Wix publish doc. If the blog is on one of those, Surfer is the writing room and something else is the publisher.

MCP is the other door. Surfer's MCP article says you can connect an MCP client, create editors, pull guidelines, generate a draft, and send a finished article to WordPress as a draft. I am not treating that as a reason to buy Surfer. The editorial decision is still a person's.

What Should You Ignore on the Homepage?

Surfer's homepage is a sales page. I am not passing through its growth percentages or the "more likely to be cited" line, because the page does not show a method. Customer quotes there are advertisements. The pricing cards include Surfy, the writing assistant, and a humanizer, including on Discovery. The homepage also lists "Surfy Agent (soon)" as a teammate that would publish for you. Soon is not a feature.

Content Audit, rank-drop alerts, and Topical Map are named in the pricing FAQ. I could not map every comparison-block row to a single plan, so I am describing them as capabilities Surfer claims, not as Discovery line items.

Verdict

Surfer wins the writing job. The Content Editor is still the clearest SERP brief I can point a writer at: location, device, outline, entities, facts, three scores, a plagiarism check named in the overview, and a WordPress draft as the default for a new post. Auto-Optimize is a suggestion list with a save button, which is the correct shape, as long as someone reads the sentences it rewrites. The 7-day Pro trial is enough to test that on a real draft.

Surfer does not win the "one login for the whole blog" job. Webflow, Sanity, and Wix are not publish targets I could verify. Google Docs and Contentful do not sync the article. AI Tracker on the plan most small teams will actually buy, Standard at $99 a month billed yearly, is ChatGPT once a week. Daily, multi-model tracking starts at Pro, $182 billed yearly, or at the $82 analytics plan if you do not need the editor. The document clock disagrees with itself across two Surfer pages. And the homepage statistics are not evidence.

A high Content Score does not get the page cited. Tracker data does not write the page. If the calendar is the problem and you want a tool to publish on a schedule, that is a different category, which is why I separated Outrank, Arvow, and Distribb. Surfer is upstream of that decision: it is where I would decide whether the draft deserves a URL at all.

Which Plan Should You Buy?

Pick from the CMS and the engine, then from the contract.

  • You are testing whether writers will use a score. Discovery, or the Pro trial. Do not expect AI Tracker. Do not expect Auto-Optimize on Discovery.
  • One site, a few posts a week, and ChatGPT is the engine the board asks about. Standard. Spend the 25 weekly prompts on the questions sales actually hears. Open the answer yourself when a mention moves, because a weekly score is not the sentence.
  • You need Gemini, Perplexity, or Google's AI surfaces in the same refresh as ChatGPT. Do not assume Standard does this. The help article says ChatGPT only. Pro is the content plan whose card says the prompts run across all models, daily. Confirm the model names on the order form. They are not printed on the pricing row I read.
  • You already have an editor you like and you only want the log. AI Search Analytics. Budget a writing tool beside it. The card I read is not a Content Editor plan.
  • The blog is on Webflow, Sanity, or Wix. Surfer can still be the brief. It is not the publisher I could verify. Pair it with a CMS path you have tested, or look at a tool that lists those targets. The Frase comparison is the one I would read next.
  • An agency has several brands. Pro is where the pricing page starts talking about multiple brands and daily updates. Count seats and brand spaces on the labeled comparison before you call Peace of Mind the only way to add a login.
  • Fintech, payments, payroll, lending, or anything a regulator could quote. Use the editor. Do not let Auto-Optimize or Surfer AI be the last eyes on a fee, a license, or a competitor named as a partner. On a live account, Austin Heaton still reads that draft. The score is allowed to be faster than a person. It is not allowed to be the last reader.

The pages those drafts have to become, if the point is a citation rather than a Content Score, are the work behind AEO-optimized blog posts. Surfer can show a gap. It does not know which URL the sales team needs a model to repeat.

What I Could Not Confirm

  • A month-to-month price for Discovery or Peace of Mind. The cards I could read did not show a saving figure for those two. Docs say the annual discount is up to 17%.
  • Whether 360 documents on Standard is a yearly pool or a monthly allowance. The card, the yearly-reset FAQ, and the "no monthly rollover" FAQ do not resolve it.
  • That the 120-document cell belongs to Discovery. It appears once in the comparison block. The Discovery card did not state a document count.
  • The model list behind Pro and Peace of Mind's "all models." Standard is the only content plan with a named model in the AI Tracker FAQ, and it is ChatGPT.
  • A numeric fair-use cap for Auto-Optimize.
  • Which plan includes the plagiarism check named in the editor overview.
  • A native publish integration for Webflow, Sanity, or Wix.
  • That lower plans cannot use the API. Peace of Mind's card advertises API access. The docs show the calls. The gate is not a sentence I found.
  • Seat counts as a labeled row. The comparison block lists 1, 3, 5, and 10. I am matching that order, not quoting a heading that said "Standard: 3 seats."
  • Homepage growth percentages, the 25% citation claim, and the 150,000 customer figure. The last is Surfer's own count. None of them came with a method on the page.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does SurferSEO cost in November 2026?

Surfer's pricing page, read on 3 November 2026, shows Discovery at $49 a month, Standard at $99, Pro at $182, and Peace of Mind at $299, each billed yearly. AI Search Analytics is $82 a month, billed yearly. Standard's card says save $240 and Pro's card says save $444, which lines up with month-to-month rates of $119 and $219. I did not see a monthly rate printed for Discovery or Peace of Mind. Enterprise is custom. Extra AI Tracker prompts are packs of 10 for $18 a month in the help center.

Does SurferSEO include AI visibility tracking?

AI Tracker is included on Standard, Pro, Peace of Mind, and Enterprise, and it is also sold alone as AI Search Analytics. Standard is 25 prompts, ChatGPT only, refreshed weekly. Pro is 50 prompts refreshed daily. Peace of Mind is 100 prompts refreshed daily. The pricing page says the 50-prompt and 100-prompt rows run simultaneously across all models, and it does not name those models on the row. Discovery does not include AI Tracker.

Can Surfer publish a blog post to WordPress?

Yes. The WordPress plugin can export a Content Editor to a new WordPress draft, or update an existing post. A new post or page becomes a draft by default. If you update a post that is already published, Surfer's doc says the change goes live immediately. You can also open the guidelines in a sidebar inside Gutenberg, the Classic Editor, or Elementor. The plugin needs PHP 8.3.

What is the difference between Surfer's Visibility Score and Sources?

Surfer's AI Tracker doc says Visibility Score is how often the brand appears in the AI answer for the prompts you track. Sources are domains the models cite or rely on, and a page can be a source without the brand being named in that answer. A zero Visibility Score means the brand was not mentioned for that prompt. It does not mean the page was never used.

Is there a free Surfer trial?

Yes. Surfer's pricing FAQ says new accounts get a 7-day free trial of the Pro plan, including AI Visibility, content audit, keyword research, AI writing, and 1-click automations. I did not see a permanent free plan on the pricing page.

Does a high Content Score mean AI will cite the page?

No. The Content Score is Surfer's coverage metric against the guidelines for a keyword. AI Tracker is a separate report of mentions and sources. Surfer's own docs say a page can be used as a source and still not be named in the answer. A score does not publish the page, and it does not make a model trust it.

Which Surfer plan fits a small blog team?

Standard, if the writers live in the Content Editor and a weekly ChatGPT check is enough. That card lists 360 documents and the help article lists 25 prompts refreshed weekly. Move to Pro when you need a daily refresh across the models the pricing page groups together. Buy AI Search Analytics only if you want the tracker and you do not need the editor.

Read next:

If the plan matrix and the CMS still do not match, Book a Call and we will read the prompt list against the editor you already have.

BECOME THE COMPANY AI RECOMMENDS.

Your next qualified lead starts with an answer.

Get more citations. Compete for the prompts that matter. Become the top choice in your category.

Book a Call